Ashwin Navratri 2018

Navratri Importance

According to the Goddess Bhagavatpurana, there are four Navratri in the year, in which Magh and Ashvad's Navaratri are called the Gupta Navaratri. Navaratri is celebrated in the month of Chaitra and Ashwin, which is said to be of greater significance in scripture. Navratri is also known as Shardi Navaratri due to Vasanti Navaratri due to being in the spring and Navratri of Ashwin month coming in the autumn. In Chaitra and Ashwin Navaratri, Ashwin Navaratri is also called Maha Navaratri.

Why is Navaratri celebrated for 9 days only ?

Navaratri is a Sanskrit word, which means 'navratane'. During these nights and ten days, nine forms of Goddess are worshiped. The tenth day is known as Dussehra. The Navratras are worshiped by three gods - Mahalaxmi, Maha Saraswati or Saraswati and nine forms of Durga, which are called Navdurga. During these navratras and ten days, nine forms of Shakti / Devi are worshiped. Durga means to remove the sadness of life. Navaratri is an important festival which is celebrated with great enthusiasm throughout India.

Consult our expert astrologers online for more information about puja and personalized horoscope analysis.

Nine Goddesses are: -

  1. Shellpurutri - It means - Mountains of Fate
  2. Brahmacharini - Its meaning - Brahmacharini
  3. Chandhangta - It means - The moon smeared.
  4. Kushmanda - That is, the whole world is in its fashion
  5. Skandamata - It means- Kartik Swavakimatamata
  6. Katyayani - It means- Katayayana Jhammi in Ashram
  7. Kalratri - It means - Kalkanashankarni.
  8. Mahagauri - It means- Safedarangwaliiman.
  9. Siddhidathari - It means - To be well-respected.

Ashwin Navratri Festival Date and Muhurat 2018

10th to 19th October 2018

10th October 2018 Reversal Establishment Muhurat: 06:22 to 07: 25 duration = 1 hour 2 minutes